Reaching over the net in volleyball is a natural part of good blocking technique, but that’s about it. The simplest way to remember this rule is: if you’re interfering with the opponent’s ability to play the ball, you’re probably doing something wrong.
More Volleyball Rules Reaching Over The Net images
After a team has made 3 hits, you can reach over the net and block the ball even if the ball isn't in the vertical plane or going to come across the net. After the ball is attacked. After a teams 1st or 2nd team hit, if, in the referee's judgment, the ball is being attacked, the blocker can reach over and block the ball.
There are only two (different) actions when you are permitted to reach beyond (over) the net: blocking and attack hit. After making an attack hit, you are allowed to pass your hand beyond the net, but the contact must have been made within your own playing space. I.e. you are not allowed to touch the ball beyond the net in this case. (Obviously, for this to be possible, the ball must be at least with a tiny portion above your side of the field, so that you are able to touch it there.
If you reach over the net to play the ball while it’s still on the other side of the net, it’s a violation unless: The other team has already used all 3 of their hits. There are no players close enough to make a play on the ball.
The next part of the question is, if one sets a ball over the net, the ball must travel perpendicular to the shoulders of the person setting the ball. That is rule 13.2.5. This means, the set must go directly in front of or behind the setter.
reaching over the net if both your opponent has not used 3 contacts AND they have a player there to make a play on the ball. When attacking a ball coming from the opponent’s court, contacting the ball when reaching over the net is a violation if the ball has not yet broken the vertical plane of the net.
Volleyball Rules - Playing the Ball above the Net The attacking player can hit the ball when is coming over the net, when it breaks the plane of the net (when a little... IMPORTANT! If the ball breaks the plane of the net and the opponent's setter is setting the ball, the opponent is... In the last ...
It’s considered reaching over the net if you contact the ball when your opponent has not used all three of their allotted hits. As long as they have hit the ball for their third hit, the ball is fair game and you can reach over the net a spike the ball or block the ball.